Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: got a new toy today.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    983
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 428 Times in 260 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AssTyme View Post
    Only thing Chinese is the motor.
    Well that's comforting to know that only the most important component is Chinese. I can sleep easy knowing that the handle and wheels are made in the good 'ole US of A. By the way, I'm certain it's not only the motor that is made in China.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NYC drain guy For This Useful Post:

    fixitright (03-08-2015), TheDrainGuy (03-08-2015)

  3. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 124 Times in 85 Posts

    Default

    Does that mean Trojan is a cheap American copy of a genuine Chinese product? Lol
    Has a spartan power feeder mount break today, while I was stuck in the line. THIS Has Been My 3rd one. So cheap cap can come from all sorts of places with all sorts of pricetags. My k50 is doing pretty good so far. Someone on the ridgid forum has used their sdt k50 for 4 years with no repairs so far.
    Last edited by Cable or root; 03-08-2015 at 06:00 PM.

  4. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    983
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 428 Times in 260 Posts

    Default

    DON'T get me started on Trojan.

  5. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,556
    Thanks
    1,890
    Thanked 2,084 Times in 1,321 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cable or root View Post
    Does that mean Trojan is a cheap American copy of a genuine Chinese product? Lol
    Has a spartan power feeder mount break today, while I was stuck in the line. THIS Has Been My 3rd one. So cheap cap can come from all sorts of places with all sorts of pricetags. My k50 is doing pretty good so far. Someone on the ridgid forum has used their sdt k50 for 4 years with no repairs so far.


    It should be made from steel not aluminum.

  6. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    368
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 124 Times in 85 Posts

    Default

    They make steel ones? Are the aluminum mounts aftermarket? Since this always happens to me on the weekend I have to go to the shop and scrounge for used parts so to be fair I have never had the luxury of getting a new one. I think steel would be much better.

  7. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    983
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 428 Times in 260 Posts

    Default

    Spartan made steel ones years ago. Now it's cheap crap for a higher price.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to NYC drain guy For This Useful Post:

    Cable or root (03-11-2015)

  9. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Olathe, Kansas
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 135 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    I actually bought a couple 300 machines on the cheap a while ago....im not impressed with it. I have been using a 2001 forever though and that may be why. Also I just invested in the drill and eel set up as well and i AM impressed with that! It has only been a week but it has handled every job easily so far.

  10. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,556
    Thanks
    1,890
    Thanked 2,084 Times in 1,321 Posts

    Default

    The 300 is a medium duty machine. There's a guy selling the steel brackets on eBay.

  11. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Olathe, Kansas
    Posts
    276
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 135 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    I ordered a brand new one from spartan. It was steel. What size cables are you guys using in your 300? the one I bought had .55 in it. I am scared of that stuff flipping over in a main...

  12. #20
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,556
    Thanks
    1,890
    Thanked 2,084 Times in 1,321 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by draindit View Post
    I ordered a brand new one from spartan. It was steel. What size cables are you guys using in your 300? the one I bought had .55 in it. I am scared of that stuff flipping over in a main...


    Last one I ordered around 2 years ago was still aluminum.


    .55 will open MOST 4" lines without too much of a problem. I've been using my 300/.55 for over 5 years now, it's a lighter weight dependable medium duty machine.
    Last edited by AssTyme; 08-16-2015 at 12:43 PM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •